Strasbourg, 25th November 2021

Dear Mr López Aguilar,

we are writing you in connection to your speech at the EP plenary discussion on 23rd November 2021

regarding the topic of condemning police violence against Romani people in the EU.

In your opening statement, you stated that on 19th June 2021, Czech citizen Mr Stanislav Tomáš died

as the result of a police brutality and you also recalled the case of George Floyd saying the only

difference in this Czech case was that it did not resonate throughout Europe.

Mr López Aguilar, let us point out to you the fact that right after the incident you mentioned, the

independent investigation was conducted together with a court-ordered autopsy. The autopsy report,

issued by the Czech authorities, clearly states that there is no correlation between the police actions and

death of Mr Stanislav Tomáš. Contrary, the autopsy report showed that Mr Tomáš died as the result of

amphetamine overdose. The Czech police also later posted video, which shows that Mr Tomáš was

arrested half-naked and intoxicated while attempting vandalism on a street.

We have no reason to question or doubt about the independence of the Czech police, the Court or other

Czech authorities. That is why we were unpleasantly surprised listening your statement, which

obviously undermined the independence and results of the investigation. Let us assure you that the

Roma problematic and inclusion have been important topic for us as Members of the European

Parliament. However, the discussion in the European Parliament should be among other things based

on facts, not assumptions that only undermine our authority and trust of citizens. Moreover, statements

like yours only nourish perception of the Czech Republic as an extremist country against Roma

population while the reality has been much more positive in the last decades.

Mr López Aguilar, we demand further explanation of your statement and in case, your statement has no

substantiated evidence, we demand your immediate apology.

Kind regards,

Tomáš Zdechovský (EPP)

Alexandr Vondra (ECR)

Members of the European Parliament